Spotlight: Royal Outrigger Club

| June 13, 2013 | 0 Comments
Great Britain
Kingston upon Thames, Surrey. GBR
Team Name:
Scirocco / iROC Dragons
Competing in:
Mixed Open Division

Royal Canoe Club first entered an outrigger race in 1987 – when members participated in the Molokai Hoe Outrigger Canoe Race. We made our first canoe in 1988 – a Malia from a boat brought over to the UK by Toots Mindeville and now also have a 1990 from New Zealand. The club has competed in Liberty in 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2008. All of this year’s team members are more usually seen competing in dragon boat races within the UK or internationally, with some members also taking part in SUP competitions.  Three of the team took part in the 2008 Liberty Race and wanted to come back again but for most of the team, this will be our first ever outrigger competition.  

Scirocco Mixed Open Crew:
Kent Perry, Adam Stiling, James De Martelly Seaman, Cat Cotton, Harriet Lambert, Joce King

iROC Dragons Mixed Open Crew:
Mike Tushaw, Lee Self, Sutton Yeung, Janet Heggie, Keiri Patu-Harber, Bernice King

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: ,

Category: Blog